Friday, April 19, 2024, 6:16 PM
**Imran, Qureshi sentenced to 10 years in cipher case **Special court in Rawalpindi convicted former Prime Minister Imran Khan under official Secrets Act **Decision was announced by special court Judge Abul Hasnat Zulqarnain during hearing at Adiala Jail
Home Top News Sindh resuffles bureacracy and police, faces resistance over six secretaries

Sindh resuffles bureacracy and police, faces resistance over six secretaries

Four commissioners and almost all deputy commissioners transferred

by NWMNewsDesk
0 comment

The caretaker Sindh government transferred at least 40 police officers and almost all the administrative officers in the province’s various districts on Tuesday. However, it found itself at loggerheads with the Election Commission of Pakistan over the appointment of six provincial secretaries.

The ECP acceded to the caretaker government’s request for the transfer of 40 police officers. Similarly, the transfer orders of four commissioners and several deputy commissioners were also approved by the ECP.

However, the electoral body did not approve the appointment of at least six secretaries.

The ECP opposed the appointment of Dr Kazim Hussain as Finance Secretary, Shireen Mustafa as Secretary of School Education, Muhammad Iqbal Memon as the Home Secretary of Sindh, and Niaz Ahmad Abbasi as Secretary Irrigation.

The request to appoint Nisar Abbas as Secretary of Food and Najam Shah as Secretary of the Forests and Wildlife Department was also rejected.

The ECP did grant the request to change key police officers across the province. Khadim Hussin Rind has been appointed the new chief of Karachi police.

The deputy inspectors generals (DIGs) of police for Karachi South, Karachi West, Karachi East, Hyderabad, Mirpurkhas, Shaheed Benazirabad, Sukkur, and Larkana regions have also been changed.

Similarly, SPs and SSPs in 31 districts have been replaced with ECP approval.

The ECP issued a notification for the appointment of Muhammad Saleem Rajput as the Commissioner of Karachi.

Similarly, Khalid Hyder Shah has been appointed Commissioner of Hyderabad, Faisal Ahmed Aqeeli as Commissioner of Mirpurkhas, and Syed Muhammad Sajjad as Commissioner of Shaheed Benazirabad.

The notification has also been issued for the transfer of deputy commissioners of all the districts of Sindh including Karachi.

You may also like

In a recent breakthrough, researchers have found that the updated COVID-19 vaccine has demonstrated an impressive 95% efficacy rate against the emerging Delta variant, which has been causing widespread concern globally.


Latest Articles

© 2023 News World Media. All Rights Reserved.